Gambia Bayoolu e.V.

„Gambia Bayoolu e. V.(registered association)“ was founded in August 2018 as a non-profit association by 10 founding members.The Mandika word ‘Bayoolu’ means orphan and depicts the central topic of the charity, namely offering help for orphaned children.
The 5 members of the managing-committee work on a voluntary basis. At the moment (beginning of 2020) the association is around 15 members strong and includes a growing number of supporters and donors.
Most of the club members travel regularly at least once a year to Gambia to visit friends and family. They also visit the supported orphans and their families and establish contacts to schools and other resident institutions.

1. Chairperson: Mustapha Cham

I am very pleased that we have founded Gambia Bayoolu e. V. with a circle of friends and that the members of the association have chosen me as their chairperson. Gambia Bayoolu wants to offer support to improve the living conditions of orphaned children in Gambia.
I was born in Jambur/Gambia and came to Germany in 2015. I grew up in Gambia and have trained as a brick layer there. In my life I have worked as brick layer, taxi driver, gardener, drummer and for a long time I earned my living as employee in a tourist lodge. In Germany I work as fitter in a solar energy company. For a couple of years now I am engaged with the Gambia association in Dortmund and tell people about the bad living conditions in Gambia, especially for orphaned children. I am married and have a son.

2. Chairperson: Inge Hanemann

I am 55 years old, married and have 2 grown-up daughters. I trained as a nurse, have a qualification as social education worker and as alternative practitioner for animals. I work as a practice manager in Bochum. When I travelled to Gambia for the first time in 2017 it became very clear to me that education is particularly important in this country. Without a good school education it is nearly impossible for Gambians – particularly for girls – to develop a perspective for the future which isn’t marked by poverty and disease.

Treasurer: Sabine Dominik
I am 56 years old and have 2 grown-up children. I work as an accountant and in my free time I volunteer working with young people. When approximately a year ago I was asked whether I had the time and inclination to work with Gambia Bayoolu I didn’t have to think twice. That I became part of the founding group made me very happy. I know how to crunch numbers, it’s my job. Many years ago I lived in Senegal for a year and worked in the administration of a holiday club there. I don’t know the neighbouring country of Gambia yet but I’m sure I will get to know it soon. I am very much looking forward to it.

Enny Pötter


For many years now I regularly travel to Gambia to get to know the people and the culture there and to offer partial support. Singular assistance isn’t very effective in the long run so I am very happy that Gambia Bayoolu can offer longterm support to children, teenager and young adults to help improve their future perspectives. I live in Witten and work as art and social therapist as well as freelance sculptor. In my free time I work with different charity associations. I am interested in art and culture and love to read and travel.

Claudia Fagentzer



I have 2 grown-up sons and work in administration. In January 2016 I travelled to Gambia for the first time and immediately lost my heart to the country and its people. Since then I support Gambians privately and now also via Gambia Bayoolu e. V.

Gambia Bayoolu e.V.

Der gemeinnützige Verein „Gambia Bayoolu e.V.“ wurde im August 2018 von 10 Gründungsmitgliedern gegründet. Das Mandinka-Wort „Bayoolu“ bedeutet „Waisenkinder“ und stellt das zentrale Anliegen des Vereins, Hilfe für elternlose Kinder, dar.

Der fünfköpfige Vorstand arbeitet ausschließlich ehrenamtlich. Aktuell (Stand Anfang 2020) besteht der Verein aus ca. 15 Mitgliedern und einer wachsenden Spender- und Unterstützerzahl.

Die meisten Vereinsmitglieder fahren regelmäßig mindestens 1x jährlich nach Gambia, um Familie und Freunde zu besuchen. Unterstützte Waisen und ihre Familien werden besucht und Kontakte zu Schulen und anderen ansässigen Institutionen geknüpft.

1. Vorsitzender: Mustapha Cham

Ich freue mich, dass wir mit einem Freundeskreis den Verein Gambia Bayoolu e.V. gegründet haben und die Mitglieder des Vereins mich zum Vorsitzenden gewählt haben. Mit Gambia Bayoolu möchten wir einen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Lebenssituation von elternlosen Kindern in Gambia leisten.
Gebürtig bin ich aus Jambur/Gambia und 2015 nach Deutschland gekommen. Ich bin in Gambia aufgewachsen und habe dort eine Ausbildung zum Maurer gemacht. In meinem weiteren Leben habe ich als Maurer, Taxifahrer, Gärtner, Trommler und jahrelanger Mitarbeiter in einer Lodge für Touristen meinen Lebensunterhalt verdient. In Deutschland arbeite ich als Monteur im Solarbereich. Seit einigen Jahren engagiere ich mich im Gambiaverein Dortmund und mache Menschen auf die schlechten Lebensbedingungen, insbesondere von elternlosen Kindern in Gambia aufmerksam. Ich bin verheiratet und habe einen Sohn.

2. Vorsitzende: Inge Haneman


Ich bin 55 Jahre alt, verheiratet und habe 2 erwachsene Töchter. Von Beruf bin ich Krankenschwester, Dipl. Sozialpädagogin und Tierheilpraktikerin.  Ich arbeite als Praxismanagerin in Bochum. Als ich 2017 das erste Mal nach Gambia gefahren bin, wurde mir sehr deutlich, wie wichtig insbesondere Bildung in diesem Land ist. Ohne eine gute Schulbildung ist es für Gambianer, insbesondere Mädchen, nicht möglich, eine Zukunftsperspektive zu entwickeln, die nicht nur aus Armut und Krankheit besteht.

Kassenwartin: Sabine Dominik
Ich bin 55 Jahre und habe 2 erwachsene Kinder. Ich arbeite als Buchhalterin und ehrenamtlich als Jugendleiterin. Als ich vor ca. 1 Jahr gefragt wurde, ob ich Zeit und Lust hätte, bei Gambia Bayoolu mitzuarbeiten, musste ich keine Minute nachdenken. Dass ich ein Teil der Gründungstruppe werden durfte, hat mich sehr gefreut. Mit Zahlen kann ich umgehen, weil es mein Beruf mit sich bringt. Ich habe vor vielen Jahren 1 Jahr im Senegal gelebt und dort in einem Urlaubsclub in der Verwaltung gearbeitet. Das Nachbarland Gambia kenne ich noch nicht, werde es aber sicherlich bald kennenlernen! Ich freue mich schon!

Enny Pötter

Seit vielen Jahren fahre ich regelmäßig nach Gambia um dort Kultur und Menschen kennen zu lernen und partiell Unterstützung zu leisten. Einzelne Unterstützungen sind auf Dauer nicht nachhaltig, so dass ich froh bin, dass wir mit Gambia Bayoolu die Möglichkeit haben, langfristig vielen Kindern, Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen zu einer besseren Perspektive zu verhelfen.Ich wohne in Witten und bin als Kunst-und Sozialtherapeutin sowie als freischaffende Bildhauerin tätig. Darüber hinaus bin ich in verschiedenen anderen Vereinen ehrenamtlich engagiert. In meiner Freizeit beschäftige ich mich mit Kunst und Kultur sowie mit Lesen und Reisen.

Claudia Fagentzer


Ich habe 2 erwachsene Söhne und bin Verwaltungsangestellte. Im Janaur 2016 war ich zum ersten Mal in Gambia und habe sofort mein Herz an Land und Leute verloren. Seit dieser Zeit helfe ich in Gambia auf privater Ebene und nun auch bei Gambia Bayoolu e.V.

 

.

.